A Personal Challenge

Here I sit, having finished my second year of college. Halfway done with what might end up being the best four years of my life. Two years gone, and two years left  before that dreaded step out into the real world. The college experience is incredibly valuable not only because of the great opportunities it offers in terms of education, research, and friend-making, but also because it allows each student to spend a few years searching for (and hopefully finding) any number of new passions. How many people do you know that picked up new favorite hobbies, sports, academic subjects, or other activities during their time in college? My guess is that everyone you know who went to college found something new that they discovered a love for.

Well, after two years of college, I may have found a passion of my own. Since taking a creative writing class this past semester, I’ve been writing more and more, and having a lot of fun doing it. So, I plan on taking it a step further, and this blog will serve as a sort of logbook of my actions.

The passion: Writing
The actions I plan to take: Writing a lot.
The personal challenge: Finishing a novel by the end of my senior year.

I don’t just want a first draft finished, I want it edited and in its final form. That’s not to say I will be looking to get it published any time soon, however. I’m writing this book for myself, because I think it’s a great challenge and I’ll enjoy doing it. Maybe someday I’ll be lucky enough to write a novel and have it published, but as of right now that’s not goal #1.

So I’ll write everyday, and update this blog with my progress. It will be a way to keep me on track for my goal, and hopefully it can be somewhat helpful to any other new writers (youthful or otherwise) who are also inspired to take on this kind of challenge.

So, there it is. I’m going to finish a book before I graduate in May of 2015. Maybe I’ll even finish two or three, but hey, you gotta start somewhere, right? Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

